Yearly Awards

Applications are now being accepted for the 2018 Yearly Awards.

The Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Heavy-Highway-Utilities Chapter (AGC) and the South Dakota Chapter of the Land Improvement Contractors Association (LICA) are proud to announce their 2017 award winners who were honored at the annual South Dakota State Convention, January 15, 2018, at The Lodge in Deadwood, SD.

The Build South Dakota Award

2018 Application

The Build South Dakota Award recognizes particular South Dakota highway-heavy-utilities construction projects completed in the past year. Projects demonstrate excellent management and client service, innovation in construction techniques or materials, community relations and/or sensitivity to the environment. The 2017 winners are:

Category I - (Projects Under $1 million)

R.C.S Construction – Rapid City, SD - for Outstanding Highway-Heavy-Utility Construction performed by Replacing Two 48” Woodstave Penstocks with a New 48” HDPE Pipe for the City of Spearfish.

Category III - (Medium Projects)

AGE Corp. – Ft. Pierre, SD - for Outstanding Highway-Heavy-Utility Construction performed via Scour Protection and Erosion Control Over the Grand River, in Corson County.

Category III - (Largest Projects)

BX-CC – Dell Rapids, SD - for Outstanding Highway-Heavy-Utility Reconstruction Performed on 6th Street & US Highway 14 in Brookings, SD. 

AGC Golden Hard Hat Award

2018 Application

The Golden Hard Hat Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding skill, responsibility and integrity within the construction industry. Criteria includes long-term performance, image, community involvement and promotion of the AGC. The 2017 Winner is:

Jim Loiseau, Loiseau Construction, Flandreau, SD


Mark Knight Leadership Award

Mark Knight Leadership Award 2018 Application

The Mark Kmight Leadership Award (formerly Young Construction Professional Award) recognizes an individual under the age of 35 who possesses extensive field experience & professionalism in their type of work, is actively involved in their community and the AGC, as well as demonstrates great leadership skills. The 2017 winner is:

Andy Johnson, AGE Corp. Fort Pierre, SD


AGC Good Citizen Award

2018 Application

The Good Citizen Award is awarded in recognition of those people in our industry who, by their action and by their service, accomplish meritorious deeds. These will be singular achievements, which bring credit to the individual or their firm and thereby improve the image of the construction industry.


AGC Safety Excellence Award for Driver Safety

The Safety Excellence Award for Driver Safety recognizes a driver that has over 25 years of experience, driven over 250,000 miles totaling over 17,250 hours without a violation or accident. The 2017 winner is:

Jim Thuringer from Myrl & Roy’s Paving, Sioux Falls, SD


AGC Safety Excellence for Outstanding Company Award

The Safety Excellence Award for Outstanding Company recognizes an AGC Member company who possesses an outstanding EMR rating, measureable statistics in reducing recordable accidents, safety policies & procedures, and a safety program followed by everyone within their company and at all levels. The 2017 winner is:

Henry Carlson Company, Sioux Falls, SD


Paul Lepthien Award

The Paul Lepthien Safety Award is given to an outstanding leader in the construction field. Paul Lepthien demonstrated his passion for safety throughout his career by teaching, inspiring, and being proactive in all aspects of safety.  The 2017 winner is:

Dan Kuper, Sioux Falls, SD